Fashion, Music, Blogging, Black Beauty

 

 

African American women representations in the media are disproportionate  to the  industry’s system of whiteness. Even when woman of color are shown, they are modified into racist, sexist, classist stereotypes. Whether it is lightening her complexion or objectifying her body as eye candy, the dark skinned woman faces political ascription based on her perceived race.

You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I'll rise.
Does my sexiness upset you?
Does it come as a surprise
That I dance like I've got diamonds
At the meeting of my thighs?
- Maya Angelou
Leave a Reply

